Call for papers (Intellectual Property conference)

Call for papers: Conference on Intellectual Property, Iona College, New Rochelle, NY

April 30-May 1, 2010; (cfp deadline: Feb. 5, 2010)

Iona College announces the Second Conference on Intellectual Property to be held at Iona College in New Rochelle, NY, April 30 – May 1, 2010. The keynote address will be presented by James Boyle.*

In our second year, the Conference on Intellectual Property will continue to explore intellectual property in a cross-disciplinary context. What is it, how has it evolved as a concept, and in what ways do we feel its practical and theoretical impact upon academic, economic, legal and technological fields? From plagiarism, to patent law, to the Creative Commons and beyond, the conference is sure to offer a remarkable breadth and depth of insights and approaches to what may well be the defining issue of our time. Come join the conversation!

Selected essays will be published in a proposed collection for a peer-reviewed press.

500-word Papers/Panel abstracts or complete papers should be submitted by February 5th, 2010 to Shannon Donlon at sdonlon@iona.edu. Questions can be directed to Dr. Amy Stackhouse at: astackhouse@iona.edu.

2010 Conference Information will soon be available at: www.iona.edu/cip

*James Boyle is William Neal Reynolds Professor of Law at Duke Law School and co-founder of the Center for the Study of the Public Domain. He is the author of The Public Domain: Enclosing the Commons of the Mind and Shamans, Software and Spleens: Law and the Construction of the Information Society. He writes widely on issues of intellectual property, internet regulation and legal theory. He was one of the founding board members of Creative Commons (www.creativecommons.org), which works to facilitate the free availability of art, scholarship, and cultural materials by developing innovative, machine-readable licenses that individuals and institutions can attach to their work. He served as a board member from 2002 until 2009, the last year as Chairman of the board. He was also a co-founder of Science Commons (www.sciencecommons.org), which aims to expand the Creative Commons mission into the realm of scientific and technical data, and of ccLearn (learn.creativecommons.org), which works to promote the development and use of open educational resources. Professor Boyle is also a member of the academic advisory boards of the Electronic Privacy and Information Center (www.epic.org), the Connexions (cnx.rice.edu) open-source courseware project, and of Public Knowledge (www.publicknowledge.org). In addition, he continues to write an online column for the Financial Times‘ New Economy Policy Forum (news.ft.com/comment/columnists/neweconomy).

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: